Kansas Children's Service League
donate button   volunteer button     facebook   twitter   YouTube   linkedin

Adoption Services
Child Abuse Prevention
Early Childhood Education
Family Support Services
Foster Care
Mental Health Services
Support Groups
Our Mission Our NeedOur NeedOur Word
The Period of PURPLE Crying® Dose 1
Dose 1 - The Periof of PURPLE Crying® program is given to parents, both mothers and fathers, in the hospital after the birth of their baby. Maternity nurses will be trained and provided with a script and the materials. Each family will receive the 10 minute DVD and 11 page booklet about normal infant crying. When possible, the parents will watch the film in the hospital and be able to ask the nurse questions. The booklet and DVD are available in 10 languages ensuring parents receive the information in their native language. An additional 17 minute segment has been added to include tips on infant soothing and self care for parents and caregivers.

Parents are asked to participate in a survey before leaving the hospital to provide feedback about the program and if after watching the DVD they will be more likely to put their baby in a safe place and walk away when frustrated by the baby's crying.

Current Hospitals Implemented:
Allen County
  • Allen County Hospital, Iola
Atchison County
  • Atchison Hospital, Atchison
Barton County
  • Great Bend Regional Hospital, Great Bend
Bourbon County
  • Mercy Healthy Center, Fort Scott
Brown County
  • Hiawatha Community Hospital, Hiawatha
Butler County
  • Susan B. Allen Memorial Hospital, El Dorado
Clay County
  • Clay County Community Hospital, Clay Center
Coffey County
  • Coffey County Hospital
Cowley County
  • South Central Kansas Medical Center, Arkansas
  • William Newton Hospital, Winfield
Crawford County
  • Via Christi Hospital, Pittsburg
Dickinson County
  • Memorial Health System, Abilene
Douglas County
  • Lawrence Memorial Hospital, Lawrence
Ellis County
  • Hays Medical Center, Hays
Finney County
  • St. Catherine Hospital, Garden City
Ford County
  • Western Plains Medical Complex, Dodge City
Geary County
  • Irwin Army Community Hospital, Fort Riley
  • Geary County Community Hospital, Junction City
Gove County
  • Gove County Medical Center, Quinter
Grant County
  • Bob Wilson Memorial, Ulysses
Harvey County
  • Newton Medical Center, Newton
Johnson County
  • Menorah Medical Center, Overland Park
  • Overland Park Regional Medical Center, Overland Park
  • St. Luke's South Hospital, Overland Park
  • Shawnee Mission Medical Center, Shawnee Mission
Kearny County
  • Kearny County Hospital, Lakin
Labette County
  • Labette Health, Parsons
Leavenworth County
  • Cushing Memorial Hospital, Leavenworth
Lyon County
  • Newman Regional Health, Emporia
Marshall County
  • Community Memorial Healthcare, Marysville
McPherson County
  • McPherson Hospital, McPherson
Mitchell County
  • Mitchell County Hospital Health System, Beloit
Montgomery County
  • Coffeyville Regional Medical Center, Coffeyville
Morris County
  • Morris County Hospital, Council Grove
Nemaha County
  • Nemaha Valley Community Hospital, Seneca
  • Sabetha Community Hospital, Sabetha
Neosho County
  • Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center, Chanute
Norton County
  • Norton County Hospital, Norton
Osborne County
  • Osborne County Memorial Hospital, Osborne
Pottawatomie County
  • Community Healthcare System, Onaga
Pratt County
  • Pratt Regional Medical Center, Pratt
Reno County
  • Hutchinson Regional Medical Center, Hutchinson
Republic County
  • Republic County Hospital, Belleville
Rice County
  • Hospital District #1, Lyons
Riley County
  • Via Christi Hospital, Manhattan
Rooks County
  • Rooks County Health Center, Plainville
Saline County
  • Salina Regional Health Center, Salina
Scott County
  • Scott County Hospital, Scott City
Sedgwick County
  • Via Christi Hospital, Wichita
  • Wesley Medical Center, Wichita
Seward County
  • Southwest Medical Center, Liberal
Shawnee County
  • St. Francis Health Center, Topeka
  • Stormont-Vail HealthCare, Inc., Topeka
Sherman County
  • Goodland Regional Medical Center, Goodland
Smith County
  • Smith County Memorial Hospital, Smith Center
Stanton County
  • Stanton County Healthcare Facility, Johnson City
Sumner County
  • Sumner Regional Medical Center, Wellington
Thomas County
  • Citizens Medical Center, Colby
Washington County
  • Hanover Hospital, Hanover
  • Washington County Hospital, Washington
Wyandotte County
  • Providence Medical Center, Kansas City
  • University of Kansas Hospital, Kansas City
For more information about the Period of PURPLE Crying and implementation efforts taking place in Kansas please contact Rachelle Soden
dot dot
Logos Healthy FamiliesUnited WayCircle of ParentsPrevent Child Abuse
Services | Training | About Us | Help Us | Resources | Contact | Careers | News
Site Map | Privacy Statement | Credits | Site Requirements | © 2021 Kansas Children's Service League. All rights reserved.